The Law and Covenant of Grace

Grace is the bringing in of a New law that man can Keep. It is the ushering in of a new covenant that is 100% Christ dependent. The Lord promised the coming of this New covenant he would enact with man, when He said to Jeremiah (see Jeremiah 31:33), “But this shall be the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel; After those days (you can add there ‘of Grace’), saith the LORD, I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people”. To show his determination and resolution on this matter, He reiterated the coming of this New Covenant to Ezekiel also in Ezekiel 36:26-28, saying “A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh. And I will put my spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes, and ye shall keep my judgments, and do them. And ye shall dwell in the land that I gave to your fathers; and ye shall be my people, and I will be your God”.

We know that before 2 or 3 witnesses, a matter is established thus God generously gave us a third witness of this truth in the book of Hebrews, (see &Hebrews 8:7-12) saying the same thing as before in verse 10-11 “For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, saith the Lord; I will put my laws into their mind, and write them in their hearts: and I will be to them a God, and they shall be to me a people: And they shall not teach every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the Lord: for all shall know me, from the least to the greatest”. If you study on to verse 12-13 you will notice an unusual addition to this covenant that seals it up and gives us a summation of it all “For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more. In that he saith, A new covenant, he hath made the first old. Now that which decayeth and waxeth old is ready to vanish away”. Thus we see Gods concrete decision to treat us as though sin does not exist, because he is determined to reunite us with Himself, in All fullness and in All of His blessings.

It is therefore for this reason that we are called by Him Heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ Jesus, because sin and its reparcaution has being taken out of the way by the new covenant and we now have access to the fulness of God by the blood of Jesus Christ  Hebrews 10:19-23. We are now named with God, we are now part of the family and freely so. We are no more slaves of the kindom, rather we are now sons of the kingdom, thus we are one with God because of Jesus Christ.  Why would you wish to go through another gate when you have the perfect gate right before you, the Lord Jesus Christ. It is for this reason ladoes and gentlemen that we say we are in a new era of His Grace.

If you you look closely at the tenets of this covenant, you will notice that unlike the old covenant that hinged on “you shall” (see Exodus 20 and all of the old testament laws from the books of Exodus to Numbers) this new covenant hinges on “I will”( referring to God himself). He took the dependency of the fulfiling of this new covenant from us and placed it upon himself, so that it could never fail. Thus to prove the immutability of His counsel, He swore by Himself. Thus Jesus Christ finished the deal, when He went to the cross, fulfilled the old law Romans 10:4, gave Himself as the token for the New Covenant and boldly declared, “it is Finished”. He finished His part and our part and gave us only one term of covenant which is to ‘Believe only’ on Him and on His finished works for us Hebrews 4. For it is only then that we would be empowered to be and live as He. Based on this, Jesus was then able to give us a new commandment to walk in, saying “love one another as I have loved you” John13:34, 15:9,12 and John3:23. So that by this new covenant, we see a new approach, that we should 1st receive His love and Grace to be able to give out love and Grace.

About glow4life

I am one who is passionate about the plight of mankind in their quest for happiness and success in their immediate environment and seek to minister and publish practical, workable solutions for effectual living, using biblical principles via the gospel of Grace in Christ Jesus unto mankind. This is our goal at glow4life and I desire that you would be blessed tremendously by it.
This entry was posted in Faithful God, Grace and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.